To Live Long and Prosper

Leonard Nimoy died last week.  For those of you who don’t know, he was most famous for portraying the half – Vulcan, first officer and scientist Mr. Spock on the original Star Trek TV series and movies.  I’ve been a fan of the original Star Trek since I was a little kid and my dad ordered the series on VHS tapes.  We’d spend weekend afternoons in the cold NY winters watching a few episodes at a time.  Binge watching before it was classified.  I don’t consider myself a “trekkie”; I’ve never dressed in star fleet regalia, gone to a convention, or even watched the newer shows.  However, I did start this whole blog off with a Star Trek reference and Mr. Nimoy’s death has me questioning my own mortality.

Mr. Spock’s catchphrase and customary Vulcan greeting was “live long and prosper”.  While there is no doubt that a lot of us are living longer these days, are we all prospering?  Not just in a monetary sense, I think the true meaning behind the phrase is to live a rich and full life.  Since we have been back from our first foray into cruising I have met a lot of cruisers and told them our story.  Almost universally these are older folks who are cruising as a retirement, and almost universally their response to our story is “wow, it’s great that you are doing this so young, I wish I had”.  I’m not trying to sound like we have it all figured out, because we surely don’t and this lifestyle wouldn’t work for a lot of people.  But to hear older folks tell you that they wish their life had been like yours is validating.  It means that we are prospering in our own way, living the life we want in this little niche community of sailboat living.

Leonard Nimoy was 83 years old, fifty years older than I am today.  It sounds like a lot of time, but we all know it really isn’t.  If you’re reading this I’d encourage you to think about where you are in life, what you want out of it and to try to work on your own version of prospering.

I think we all know that it’s not the things we accumulate in life that lead to prosperity. It’s the experiences and the friends and family that really matter.

Hope you all have a good week, and one final thought from Leonard Nimoy’s last tweet:

“A life is like a garden. Perfect moments can be had, but not preserved, except in memory. LLAP.” (Live Long & Prosper)

Spock_performing_Vulcan_salute

Leave a Reply

